LINC Background Graphics.jpg
LINC Fuzzy Circle Logo_800x800.png

Open the Door to Innovation

Learn How Federal Labs Can Benefit Your Business

Featuring Dr. Vanessa Chan, newly appointed Chief Commercialization Officer, DOE

VC.jpg

(Recap) Thursday, January 28th at at 12:00pm PT / 1:00pm MT / 3:00pm ET

 
 

About the Event

“Open the Door to Innovation” is the first event of a networking and exploration series to foster regional collaborations between the national labs, industry, entrepreneurs, and investors. 

This event is designed for businesses and industry leaders. Learn how working with federal labs can benefit your business. LINC is a resource where the private sector can engage researchers and technology transfer professionals - it is a front door to the four Department of Energy (DOE) national laboratories in the San Francisco Bay Area (SLAC National Accelerator, Lawrence Berkeley, Sandia, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratories). 

 

At this event, you’ll: 

  • Have unprecedented access to officials from 4 national labs and be able to ask the panel your questions directly

  • Hear from a CEO who successfully leveraged a national lab partnership to grow their business 

  • See “reverse pitches” from laboratory officials, showcasing technology and facilities, focusing on quantum and cleantech

  • Discover partnership mechanisms and resources

 

 Agenda 

12:00pm PT / 3:00pm EST

Opening

Dr. Vanessa Chan

Director, Office of Technology Transitions (Chief Commercialization Officer)

12:10pm PT / 3:10pm EST

Lab Innovation Networking Center Overview

Overview of LINC

12:30pm PT / 3:30pm EST

Keynote Address

Marcos Gonzales Harsha

Principal Deputy Director, Office of Technology Transitions

12:30pm PT / 3:30pm EST

Moderated Fireside Chat

An in-depth, moderated discussion with an industry leader who successfully partnered with a federal lab

1:00pm PT / 4:00pm EST

Reverse Pitches

Laboratory representatives “pitch” and showcase their technology and facilities

1:30pm PT / 4:30pm EST

Q&A

Ask any and all questions directly to a panel of Technology Transfer officials from all four of the Bay Area labs

1:50pm PT / 4:50pm ESET

Closing

Find out more about future events and where to find resources

Featured Presenters

Dr. Vanessa Chan

Department of Energy

Director, Office of Technology Transitions

Marcos Gonzales Harsha

Department of Energy

Principal Deputy Director, Office of Technology Transitions

Andy Mcllroy

Sandia National Laboratories

Associate Labs Director, Integrated Security Solutions

Richard Rankin

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Director of the Innovation and Partnerships Office (IPO)

Steve Eglash

SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Director, Applied Energy Division

Horst Simon

Berkeley Lab

Deputy Director for Research

Noel Bakhtian

Berkeley Lab

Executive Director, Berkeley Lab Energy Storage Center

Joe Pratt

Golden Gate Zero Emission Marine

CEO & CTO

Rick Muller

Sandia National Laboratories

Senior Manager of the Advanced Microsystems Group

Simon Pang

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Staff Scientist

Paul Welander

SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Staff Scientist

+ Technology Transfer Officials

The Lab Innovation Networking Center (LINC)

provides a front door to the four Department of Energy (DOE) national laboratories in the San Francisco Bay Area, linking corporations, startups, and investors to DOE’s world-class research and unique facilities. SLAC National Accelerator, Lawrence Berkeley, Sandia, and Lawrence Livermore national laboratories are part of

DOE’s 17-lab complex and roughly $12-billion dollar per year research and development portfolio.